Contest: You know it’s BAD when…

WIN A FREE PACK OF STAMPIN’ UP! 12×12 INCOLOR CARDSTOCK!

Ever have whacky silly weird events in your life with your Stampin’ Up! products?  Post a comment to this thread (click this thread’s comment link) and share yours!!! The person who has the whackiest story wins a free pack of In Color paper!  The story has to be a story about a Stampin’ Up! Product!

Note:
Entries must be received by August 15, 2007.  The lucky Winner will be announced on August 16!   Please make sure you give me your email address (in the comment) so that I can contact you!

Here’s my Whackies…

(I’ll keep adding to the list as I think of them so keep checking back periodically for a real good laugh!)

  • NEW:  Never, I mean never use watercolor wonder crayons near a cat…I have one egyptian (very very cute) cat love to stamp with me… I mean really stamp with me.  Imagine my watercolor wonder crayon set (the old model with all 48 colors in the long tin) on the right of me and my wonderfully helpful cat monster on the left.  Now this cat by nature is naturally mischevious and so she just had to walk across my project and walk on top of the covered water color crayons (she wanted a better view… guess she liked the blender pen technique!) only to find that a good portion of the box was hanging off the table (my bad)… when she tumbled… so did my crayons… lesson learned:  watercolor wonder crayons will break when they hit the wood floor!  Never use the watercolor/blender pen technique around a natuarlly curious cat…UGH! (luckily only 3 broke)
  • You teach your 7 year old daughter how to use a glue gun (what was I thinking) and you start finding coin paperweights all around the house.  Yip you guessed it all the loose coins in the sofa, under the bed, in her piggy bank glued!  She wanted to not loose the coins.  Too bad there is no unGlue option!
  • You tell your teenage daughter (yes the Glue Gun Phanatic grew up! UGH!) that you do not have time to paint her room because you are preparing for a workshop.  You come home from the workshop and notice that your Stampin’ Up! Craft (yes I did say Craft) reInkers are either missing or half used up and your daughter proudly announces she did it her way…. Tye Died Walls! UGH!
  • You forgot the life lessons your mother used to tell you – like do not run with scissor in your hand – well my mom forgot to tell me not to run with an open container of Stampin’ Up! microbeads – Yep you guessed it – I ran, I fell and my cats had a heck of a party.  Microbeads on a kitchen floor – my cats were so tired chasing the Stampin’ Up! microbeads that they slept for days!  It’s great exercise though!
  • You finally get off your duff and organize all your Stampin’ Up! supplies and label everything just so.  You leave and come home to find a child (remains nameless to this day) used up 10 mind you 10 Stampin’ Up! Snail adhesive tape dispensers on a school poster sized project ON THE NIGHT OF A STAMPIN CLASS!  (She did a lot of chores  – actually she was my slave girl for a month – to pay for it.  Good thing that came out of it was my house was spotless!

Copyright 2007 Stampaloooza Paper Art Studios

Tags:
, , , , , , ,

8 Comments

  1. Jennifer Evans said,

    July 16, 2007 at 10:52 am

    My 6- year old daughter (5 at the time of this story) KNOWS my SU stuff is off limits, so when I found a sponge dauber out, I confronted her, she admitted, I scolded. End of story, right? WRONG!! A day later, I go to pull out some sponges from the top of my ink pad caddy to find, open reinker bottles, micro beads in the spilled reinker liquid, three SATURATED sponges (in Brilliant Blue, no less) and several other dyed items. My only orange reinker now has a blue label, brilliant blue again, and my ink caddy tray is permanently dyed. Needless to say, after much scolding, grounding, allowance withholding, and housework, she has NEVER touched my stuff again! She told me she didn’t want to get in more trouble after I discovered the dauber, so she just didn’t tell me about the rest of it. What can you do? She wants to be crafty, too. (In more ways than one… LOL).

  2. Allison said,

    July 16, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    My 19-month old has been fixated on my craft supplies since she could walk. She has regularly chewed the rubber off the wooden blocks, sucked pencil crayons and markers but, most annoyingly, is her penchant for my stamping spots. She sucked the Pretty in Pink dry (gross) and I don’t even know how she did this but my Bravo Burgundy is now permanently “Bravo Burgundy and More Mustard”. How did she suck and mix these two so effectively to do this? I have banned her any number of times to no avail…maybe once I can take away privileges, it might help!

  3. jodene said,

    July 16, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Ok so I am a little crazy with my stamps and stuff so mine are always locked up. But I will share with you my SU demo’s story. She has been a demo for 3 years and finally splurged to buy the whole set of SU markers. She has only had them maybe a couple of months!! So far she got her husband trying to use them for a highlighter and her 10 year old daughter decided they would be perfect to draw pictures with. I think I should give her a box that she could lock these up with. LOL If this post is the winner I would love you to give her the prize. Her name is Kim and her blog is kimscreations.typepad.com. Thanks for sharing with all us!

  4. Cheryl Kelly-Van Domelen said,

    July 16, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    Oh, I just had one that happened probably 3 weeks ago. I was trying a new technique where you heat emboss cardstock several times until it is molten and then put a stamp in it. I had my SU Gold Glory Embossing Powder and my Versamark and my paisley stamp from Polka Dots and Paisley all set to go. So I embossed the first time, then the second time, and on the thrid time the molten embossing powder got so hot that it flowed onto my finger, which was anchoring the paper down so it wouldn’t blow away from the heat gun. As an automatic response, my hand flew up and the cardstock with the molten powder flew off my finger and stuck onto my left eyebrow. I got a burn right under my eyebrow and I was pulling chunks of gold out of my eyebrow! Oh, that hurt, but I learned a valuable lesson: use a tweezers to hold down your work!!

  5. It's Marie... said,

    July 17, 2007 at 7:26 am

    Oooooh…. these stories are so funny… thanks for sharing with us!

    Tip: An idea I saw a while ago with embossing was to use a 8.5×11″ clipboard to hold the cardstock you are embossing… this way it does not move and your fingers will thank you loudly!

  6. doverdi said,

    July 17, 2007 at 8:36 am

    What funny stories. Thanks for sharing. I really don’t have any little one’s to make life humerous these days. The only problem I have is that I own a husky/collie mix dog who is forever covered in glitter. She loves to lay under my feet when I work & has had tons of glitter, embossing powder, stickers, stamps, ink, etc dropped on her. You’d think she’d learn and find a better spot to lay but no…she remains under my feet & I continue to drop stuff on her. Kind of nice to have a dog that glitters.

  7. Michelle M said,

    July 17, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    It is the first time I am trying Heat and Stick Powder, and I am so nervous. Card stock-check, stamp-check, VersaMark-check, Heat and Stick Powder-check, Powder Pal-check, Dazzling Diamonds-check, heat gun-check. I stamp my image with the Versa Mark and pour the Heat and Stick powder on. I then clean up my excess powder, pouring the rest back into the container-love the powder pals. I heat the powder until it melts and looks shiny. I pour the dazzling diamonds…and glitter everywhere!!!! I forgot to turn off my heat gun once the heat and stick powder was hot! I poured the glitter right into the air stream. I blew glitter everyplace you can imagine. I had to buy a new container because it was so hard to recover those precious pieces of glitter confetti. I must say I looked like a disco diva for the rest of the evening. Thanks for reading my story. michellemerksamer (at) yahoo (dot) com

  8. Jennifer said,

    July 17, 2007 at 6:05 pm

    My 3 now 4 year old is always allowed in my craft room. She has her own space with her own stuff. BUT the rule is, only when I am in the room or know she is in the room!!! My DH knew she played with me, but not that there was a rule about supervision (he was really feigning ignorance ~ he knew better). Anyway…I came home from work to find she had been in the room, took all my swaps (2 upcomming and due mind you) and my markers (bold brights and rich regals) and had “made them berrer”. She had used my liquid glue (glad she wasn’t glued to anything) and my dazzling diamonds too. To this day, the room still shimmers and shines. No amount of vaccuming will get it up. LOL!!! At least she did not get hurt ~ thing scissors ~ and DH only got a serious scolding about the serious damgers and toxins in the craft area.


Leave a Reply

