Money Saving Tip – Make your Watercolor Wonder Crayons Last Longer

 

click on photo for artist palette template (microsoft word document)

I really really love my Stampin’ Up! Watercolor Wonder Crayons and I was soooo frustrated when I wanted to stamp away from home – how could I stuff my precious Stampin’ Up! Watercolor Wonder Crayons into my purse (scaaaarrrrryyyy)… so I created a painters palette on a few sheets of cardstock and went over to kinkos and laminated them and then cut them (I can fit 4 to a sheet of 8.5×11 cardstock)… went home and had sheer joy when I discovered I could color on the laminated piece of cardstock and then using Stampin’ Up!s Blender Pen or even a small paint brush, I could simply take the color off the laminated cardstock and color my stamped image.

The really really cool thing about these are:

  • If you stuff them in a clear medium sized envelope they make nice gifts and you can carry them in your purse (scaaaarrrrryyyy) without breaking a crayon and getting the color all over your purse.
  • You can use these for your children to color with …of course they have their own paint brush/blender pen to use
  • You don’t have to drag out the watercolor crayons and risk your cat knocking the box onto a wood floor (see You Know It’s Bad When post…)
  • Mixing colors is very easy to do… just simply swirl the colors around with your Stampin’ Up! Blender Pen or small paint brush…

Directions:

  • Step 1:  Download the file that prints the painter’s pallete onto your computer.
  • Step 2:  Print file out onto whisper white cardstock
  • Step 3:  Laminate both sides of the cardstock (I do both sides to make them more durable)
  • Step 4:  Take the Watercolor Wonder Crayon that you desire to work with and color in a spot on the laminated cardstock (see picture above).  The heavier you lay on the color, the longer you can use it.  Do this step for each color you want to use.
  • Step 5:  Take either a blender pen (lasts longer) or a watercolor brush and swipe the color on the laminated cardstock to pick up the color and then color your stamped image.  – Voila – now you can go anywhere without stuffing your watercolor wonder crayons into a purse…

So this is a really good way to make your crayons last – I use my Stampin’ Up! Watercolor Wonder Crayons all the time and they look brand new (minus the three that broke thanks to my ingenius cat) because I only color using these laminated cardstock palettes!

Copyright 2007 Stampaloooza Paper Art Studios

Tags:
, , , , , , ,

9 Comments

  1. Linda F. Wilson said,

    July 17, 2007 at 10:14 am

    Brilliant idea!!!

  2. Marie said,

    July 17, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    I’ve had my WWC for a while now and haven’t used them. The other day I dug them out for a swap and discovered that I LOVE THEM!!!
    When I saw Allison’s post “Marie’sTip on making your watercolor crayons last” I had to read it again. I was thinking about doing a post on using the aquapainter and just using the tip of the crayon while they’re still in the case but I like your idea better.
    Great tip and I can’t wait to use this for myself!!

  3. Denise said,

    July 17, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    That is incredible! I wonder if this is something SU might want to carry?

  4. Karen WWC said,

    July 17, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    This is fabulous!
    I’m off to CASE this idea right now 😉
    Thanks for sharing.

  5. Samantha said,

    July 17, 2007 at 5:11 pm

    What what a wonderful idea. Thank goodness for creative people like you! 🙂

  6. Rebecca said,

    July 18, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    What a cool hostess thank you this would make! And if she doesn’t own the crayons, she will after she uses this…

  7. Rebecca said,

    July 20, 2007 at 12:53 am

    I love this idea and its a great way to let people try out the crayons first by giving it as a door prize or hostess gift with the colours already added onto the pallette for them. Thank you so much for posting the file on your blog. Love it!

  8. Gail Kirby said,

    August 29, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    That’s a great idea, I also read that you can scribble the colours onto a piece of vellum and take the colours off that way too. Can totally relate to the cat story 😦 I also had SEVEN crayons get broken at a workshop!

  9. Michele said,

    January 24, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    thank you for sharing this. My club hostess wants to work with the WW crayons this month, so I did a google search and found this. They will be so excited when I send them home with these templates to play with!


Leave a Reply

